You’re A Bad Leader If People Can’t Follow You

carfollowingmirror

Sometimes, when I’m driving in the lead of a convoy, I get chided for being a bad leader.

It’s neither because I don’t know the route nor that I’m driving I’m driving dangerously.

it’s because I am not mindful about the people following behind me.

Sometimes, I cross traffic lights right on amber; leaving everybody else stuck at the red light behind me. Other times, I drive a little too fast that the last few cars struggle to keep up.

You get the picture.

It’s the same with leadership.

We’re bad leaders when we are not mindful of the people following us; when we don’t bring them along.

It’s not that we lack the vision (we know where we’re going).

It’s not that we lack the skill (we can drive ahead and possess the right experience to navigate the journey ahead).

It’s not even because people don’t want to follow us (after all, people have allowed us to be “in the front” and are willingly lined up to follow).

We are bad leaders when we go ahead without ensuring that people are able to follow us.

We leave them confused, lost, and frustrated.

Good leaders help ensure that people can follow where they are leading.

Leave a Reply

